The Guy Blake Hedrick, Jr. Award

2017 Award Recipient

Dennis Konsmo and Bob Martin

Dennis Konsmo (Presented by Bob Martin)

Award Recipients:

2017 – Dennis Konsmo,
Tacoma, Washington

2016 – Eddie & Minnie Garcia,
San Antonio, Texas 

2015 – John P. Mattia,
Orange, Connecticut

2014 – Dale & Elaine Martin, Chambersburg, Pennsylvania

2013 - Bob & Doris House,
Loma Linda, Missouri

2012 - Larry & Doris Meyer,
Hazelwood, Missouri

2011 - Don & Paula Ballin,
Highland Park, Illinois

2010 - Sandy & Bob Lundberg,
Bluffton, South Carolina

2009 - John & Donna Hefner, Indianapolis, Indiana

2008 - Dr Tommy Cairns & Luis Desamero, Studio City, California

2007 - Robert B. Martin Jr., Escondido, California

2006 - Harold & Jean Baker, Lakeland, Florida

2005 - Dr. Satish & Vijaya Prabhu, Columbia, South Carolina

2004 - Jeff Stage, San Diego, California

2003 - Slats Wathen, Beaumont, Texas

The Guy Blake Hedrick, Jr. Award

The Guy Blake Hedrick, Jr. Award was established in memory of Guy Blake Hedrick, Jr. to recognize outstanding rose exhibitors who display the highest levels of excellence, integrity, and respect for the ideals of showing roses typified by Mr. Hedrick during his long career as a rosarian. It is intended as a life-long achievement award for an exhibitor who has been a successful National, District, and local exhibitor, and also a model in sharing his/her knowledge in growing championship roses.

Nominees for the award shall be members of the ARS and nominations may be made by any person.  The ARS Horticultural Exhibitors’ Committee will select the Blake Hedrick Award recipient.

Acts worthy of this recognition include:

• Sustained success in showing roses at the National, District and local levels for a decade or longer by an individual or team who has consistently exhibited rose show entries of the highest caliber with integrity and spirit for the ideals of the American Rose Society;

• Sustained lifetime achievement by an individual in devoting and focusing his or her educational talents and expertise to promoting the art of exhibition of the rose through consistent and reliable contributions to educating the public about exhibiting roses; and/or

• Significant and sustained acts of achievement by an individual in organizing and overseeing the conduct of successful rose shows at the National, District and local levels.

Award and Nomination:

The Blake Hedrick, Jr. Award consists of a bronze plaque of distinction that is awarded at the ARS spring convention. To nominate an individual or team, primary sponsors should complete a nomination form, available from ARS Headquarters, attaching the required supporting documentation (including two Award Reference Forms completed by individuals supporting the nomination), and submit the same to either the ARS Executive Director or the Chairman of the ARS Horticultural Exhibitors Committee.  All materials must be received by December 31 of the year of the award.

Contact at